all the sides

Welp, summer is winding down, school’s just about back in session… but the potlucks and cookouts are still happening. I have two this week! Maybe you’ve exhausted your list of sides to whip up for a last minute soiree. Or maybe you’re just bored with the usual suspects. If that’s the case, I’ve got a few solutions for you. I’ve put together a few of my favorite salads and salsas the bring to the party. Some new favorites, some old stand-bys, all delicious!

 

cowboy caviar

DSC00209

This is one from way back when (Once upon a food blogI lived in a big city and documented all of my cooking adventures).

 

Dressing1 c. olive oil
1 c. sugar
½ c. cider vinegarMix together and simmer until sugar is dissolved. Cool.

Ingredients

1 (15 oz.) can shoepeg corn
1 (15 oz.) can black beans
1 (15 oz.) can black eyed peas

Drain all three cans listed above and rinse in a colander.

Jalapeno peppers (4 oz. or less – depending on how hot you like it)
½ c. chopped red onion
½ c. chopped green bell pepper

 

 

tomato fennel salad

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We made this one the other day, and like most fresh salads and salsas, it gets better after it has sat for a while. On Sunday it was delicious. Today (Tuesday) it should be perfect!

Into a large bowl, slice:

1 large cucumber

1 medium fennel bulb

1 medium red onion

5 plum tomatoes

Dress with red wine vinegar, olive oil, salt & pepper to taste. Garnish with fennel fronds.

 

nectarine salsa

DSC07850

This fresh salsa has a little kick to it, which I love. It’s great with tortilla chips, or over fish. It’s also from my food-blogging days. 😉

I’m not much of a measurer, so definitely adjust these if you need to. I know I did.

1 1/2c chopped nectarine
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
1/2c finely chopped red onion
2t chopped mint
1T evoo
1T fresh lime juice

mix to your heart’s content

 

 

black bean salsa

Screen shot 2014-08-04 at 4.43.03 PMI could make this salsa in my sleep. It’s definitely my go-to, because it’s made with stuff I usually have stocked in my pantry. I don’t even have a recipe that I follow, so bear with me while I try to reconstruct it…

1 can drained and rinsed black beans

1 can drained and rinsed sweet corn (even better: fresh corn, grilled)

1 medium tomato, diced

1 jalapeno, diced

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

lime juice

a big handful of cilantro, roughly chopped

 

 

That’s all for now. If you’re interested, some of these recipes (along with a bunch more) are cataloged here.

What are your favorite sides?

2 thoughts on “all the sides

Leave a Reply

