in the belated spirit of Easter…

I bring you an egg. And a cocktail. What do the two have in common? I’ll tell you.

My husband and I were out on a date one night and we had the most delicious cocktail with an egg white in it. A few weeks later, I tried another cocktail with egg white and again, delicious! Why have we never tried this at home? Now, I know what you’re thinking, because when I told my friends about it, some of them said the same thing. Gross! The other, more adventurous of the bunch were intrigued. And ALL of said friends who were brave enough to try my husband’s delicious concoction agree that it is very tasty. So here it is, folks, a twist on a classic. I dare you not to like it. We call it…

Salmonella Sour

(It’s a whiskey sour with egg white… ya get it?) You will need the following:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This particular Salmonella Sour is made with Maker’s Mark, but you can use whatever you prefer.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I’m an elementary school teacher by day, so not much grosses me out, but I can understand why the thought/sight of a raw egg going into your drink can be off-putting. But when mixed with liquor and shaken (not stirred…), it is actually very creamy, smooth and refreshing. I would totally enjoy this out on the deck on a warm day.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Side note. Don’t you love ice molds? This one is a cylinder from World Market. We also have cubes, spheres, and mustaches! They make a great addition to the bar.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Salmonella Sour:

Serves 1

2oz. of your favorite whiskey

1oz. fresh lime juice

3/4oz. simple syrup

one egg white *disclaimer: The consumption of raw or undercooked eggs, meat, poultry, seafood or shellfish may increase your risk of food borne illness.

ice (fun shapes encouraged!)

So, what do you think? Are you gagging? Are you intrigued? Have you ever tried an egg white cocktail? Let me know in the comments!!

Leave a Reply

